I never thought that a hundred and fifty pesos will give me the thrill and entertainment I got Thursday night. I almost forgot it though it is noted in my email inbox but the good thing is that Nica, a friend who is also a former full-timer, asked me if I will be able to go to the gathering at My Brother’s Mustache along Scout Tuason near Tomas Morato. It was a tribute concert for Susan Fernandez, the Nightingale of the Philippine Left who is under medication for a certain type of cancer.

The event was aptly described by Director Joel Saracho, one of the night’s hosts, as a reunion of sorts. I can’t imagine an activity that will make both Judy Taguiwalo and Etta Rosales attend with sincerity. The former is a Maoist who accuses the other as a reformist while the latter is a Social Democrat who labels the other as an extremist. But that night’s cause summoned them in a venue smaller than the lobby of UP’s Palma Hall.

As I said, that mini-concert is amazing. The names may not be pop but are certainly musical gods and goddesses. Mike Villegas and Noli Aurelio are such guitar monsters. Lolita Carbon, Noel Cabangon, Joey Ayala and Gary Granada are timeless singer-composers of progressive music.

Chikoy Pura of The Jerks was there as well as Lourd de Veyra of Radioactive Sago Project. Jazz artist Mon David’s daughter and son were there to sing and play as their father is out of the country. Poet Pete Lacaba was there. Dodong Nemenzo. Jess Santiago. Bayang Barrios. Cookie Chua. Even someone as pop as Bituin Escalante graced the event. Add to that the sarcasm and antics of Joel Saracho and Bagong Dugo.

And without a nil of compensation, none gave a mediocre performance. Nobody left the place unsatisfied and nearly all of us even think that that gathering is more than ten-folds the 150 we cashed-in.